Frozen Tic Tacs

Pirates, Ninjas, and a Project Manager

Back to school, and thoughts on moving September 13, 2010

Filed under: Kiko — Kiko @ 4:17 am

I had to do homework this weekend. It’s a bit weird, getting back into the regular school schedule this quickly, especially since I’ve gotten used to the month or so of retreat planning/ leadership that starts off the year in talons. On my first day in Math 11, we literally walked in, took attendance, and got right down to reviewing factoring. Fun.

Other than the homework, though, (which is at least giving me something to do) I’m kind of enjoying being back at school. I know teenagers are supposed to hate back to school, but it’s so nice seeing my friends everyday, and having a regular routine, that I can’t really help it. I missed feeling productive. I missed having things to write on a to-do list – I missed crossing things off that list. I missed my friends, and discussions in class, and walking to Starbucks after school, and spending lunch hours lying on the field looking up at the sky, and fighting my way through the stuffed hallways on the way to class, and dealing with transit on a daily basis, and even the sound of my alarm waking me up far too early every morning. In short, I missed school.

In other news…

The search for a new house seems to have gotten off the ground – we spent most of today looking around at houses, all in the same general area we’re living in right now. Finding a house, as I’ve learned recently, is mostly a big headache. There are so many boxes that need ticking, and no house that we’ve found, or are likely to ever find, is going to tick all those boxes. So there’s a lot of compromise we’re going to have to make in order to move, and it’s hard to decide which of the houses we like enough to make them, and also where we’ll have to make the least compromise. And the fact that we’re living in the perfect house right now, and therefore have fairly high standards, really isn’t helpful.

Anyways, I was just thinking about this blog earlier this week, and thinking that it needs some new posts, and also that I should contribute. So there it is, and I hope you guys have a good week.

 

Leave a comment